Kwiecień- Długosz Katarzyna


Katarzyna Kwiecień-Długosz  (26. I. 1978 Głogów-) composer and translator. She graduated in composition (at the Ignacy Jan Paderewski Academy of Music in Poznań, with Prof. Mirosław Bukowski) and applied linguistics. She also studied film music, computer music, and audiovisual creation at Grażyna and Kiejstut Bacewicz Academy of Music in Łódź. She has won prizes in composition competitions in Poland and abroad, including Reinl Preis 2003 (Austria), Suoni di fiaba (Italy), Alfredo Casella (Italy), Vera Passio (Warsaw, Poland), Srebrna szybka (Kraków, Poland), and Fontannie bije ten dzwon (Gdańsk, Poland). Her works have been frequently performed throughout Poland and abroad (in Europe, Vietnam and the USA), including events such as the World Carillon Congress 2017 (Barcelona, Spain), the Festival of Contemporary Music Turbulences Sonores (Montpellier, France, 2017), the Osmose Festival (Luxemburg and Belgium, 2017), The Festival Sakralnyj Prostir in Lviv (Ukraine, 2015), International Festival of Contemporary Music Poznań Musical Spring (Poland, 2014, 2015, 2017, 2018), International Festival Słuchalnia – Musical Signs of Time in Toruń (Poland, 2015), and the Passion and Passover Music Festival in Poznań (Poland, 2013, 2018). She has received scholarships from the Polish Minister of Culture and Art, Land Brandenburg, and the German Music Council. In 2012 she obtained a PhD in composition for her symphonic work ‘Musica simultanea’ and a dissertation about the connections between music and spoken language. She is particularly interested in connections between the languages and music. She is a member of the Polish Composers’ Union and the Polish Society for Contemporary Music. She is also a translator from German into Polish, in which capacity she cooperates with music publishers and journals. Since 2005 she has been working in the Institute of Music of the University of Zielona Góra. Her works include solo and chamber music, pedagogical pieces, as well as choral, symphonic, and electronic works.

Lecture by Katarzyna Kwiecień-Dlugosz entitled “Contrast as a common element of my solo compositions” (link)

list of violin pieces

Quartet for archi (2001)
Mazurka for piano trio (2004)
Scherzo in G(PN) for string trio (2017) dedicated to prof. Grażyna Pstrokońska-Nawratil
Coalescence for piano trio (2018)
Heart of Darkness for flute, trombone, violin, cello and piano (2018)
3 plus 1 for string quartet (2018)
Solaris for carillon and electric string quartet (2021)
Spring sketches for harpsichord and string quintet (1998, published 2022)
Cemetery of Non-Existent Cemeteries for mixed choir, carillon and violin (2022)
…not made of wood for piano trio (2022)
Three interludes for harpsichord and string quintet (2023)